Corey Taylor – You’re making me hate you – Book Review

Category: ArticlesReviews Comments: No comments

5673de1f1632c830abe568e5b71d6a6a-60d9f555883ea729a21d8133fafaf941

Corey Taylor is pissed and he is not afraid to show it! Of course, for fans of Slipknot and Stone Sour that is not a surprise, as he is also known as The Great Big Mouth. Released this year, this book is a..let’s call it small encyclopaedia..of the things that annoy the crap out of him, things that he wishes people knew so they could fix, and things he wants to share with the rest of the world in the hopes that someone might listen.

The book contains 11 chapters, each crazier and more verbally violent, that go from subjects such as anger towards the whole human race and its lack of common sense, with real life examples from places such as the mall, the music industry nowadays, airports and day to day encounters with people on the street. To be honest I felt myself incredibly immersed because not only do I understand Corey completely, but the way he presents the topics at hand, while in reality sad and very disappointing that the human race has reached such an all-time low, are highly entertaining. It’s also refreshing to see him use a combination of smart vocabulary to describe the most trivial of events, sarcasm, and his own brand of venom ready to be spit at everyone. He admits it himself: he’s funny when he’s angry.

Another very refreshing thing about getting to know the man behind the mask (you know, Slipknot, mask..you get it) is that he does not only bitch about the human race and how bitter he feels, to the point of alternating between days where he either has thoughts of suicide or mass murder, but turns the magnifying glass towards himself as well. Corey Taylor is a bitch, he is angry, he likes complaining, but he is no hypocrite. He admits his mistakes and I would say the book is 50-50 shared with stories of his own mistakes and  stories of shit people have done to him.

I find that the style in which this is written, while it might shock the random citizen who has no idea of what they are getting in (but not us, the ones familiar with Mr. Taylor), is actually quite refreshing! Not only did I learn about a lot of combinations of swear words I was not aware of before, or words that in certain contexts can suddenly become vulgar, I got a taste of American culture from his references and comparisons, but most importantly, I got closer to the real Corey, the real dude who, in his honesty, unravelled quite a lot about himself. If I wanted to meet him before, now I definitely want the opportunity to have a chat with The Neck one day, in a free environment, where we could both express our frustrations and bond over our common hatred of the human race.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone who is not offended easily and does not avoid the truth. It made me think about how we should all be able to speak this freely and not hide behind curtains of mixed messages. It also made me appreciate myself and my common sense more and realise my worth. And for that, Mr. Taylor, you have my deepest respect!

And just to give you a small taste, here is one of my favourite paragraphs (hope he won’t sue my ass for sharing this): ‘High Fashion is ironically apt in its title because you have to be HIGH AS Fuck to think any of that bullshit is cool or worth the money and hassle. It’s designed for mannequins, which means it’s off limits to 98 percent of the human population. It’s pretentious, overly dramatic, and, more importantly, impractical in that it is not durable or appealing. And yet dildos with way too much money fuck each other over to have these opulent designers create looks for them. It all looks uncomfortable and depressing. You’d find better bargains at a K-Mart Blue-Light Special.’

Leave a reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>